Kansas Minimum Wage Information You Must Be Aware Of

A minimum wage of $7.25 per hour has been established by the state of Kansas. Currently, this is the same as the federal minimum wage per hour. employees that earn their income only from gratuities, some types of student employees, and certain occupations fall outside of this generalization. Most employees in Kansas are subject to the minimum wage law.

Kansas increased its minimum wage $0.70 to $7.25 in 2008. This was the final change

A minimum wage of $7.25 per hour has been established by the state of Kansas. The federal Fair Labor Standards Act does not apply to the state of Kansas, hence the state’s minimum wage must be paid to all workers in the state. If you are a company owner who is curious about whether or not the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act applies to you, you may contact Federal Wage and Hour. So how low is the Minimum wage Kansas?

Unless an individual or their profession is exempt from the minimum wage under federal or state law, employers in Kansas cannot pay their workers less than $7.25 per hour.

If you have any questions concerning the Kansas state minimum wage, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can. 

Do you want to make a move in your professional life?

Using the state of Kansas’s free job search engine, you may find out about immediate employment openings in your area.

All companies in Kansas are obliged by state law to prominently display an approved Kansas minimum wage sign informing employees of their rights under Kansas labor law and the state’s minimum wage.

What the Labor Act Really Offers

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Kansas labor law require all businesses in Kansas to prominently display an authorized Kansas minimum wage poster, as well as additional Kansas and federal labor law posters, to ensure that all employees are aware of their rights under the law and of any applicable overtime requirements. If a Kansas business fails to show a required labor code poster, they might face hefty fines.

Some Examples for You

All employees in KS who fulfill the FLSA’s standards for overtime hours will be paid the appropriate rate. If you feel that the amount of overtime pay you have received from your employer is inadequate, you have the ability to file a claim with the Kansas Department of Labor for unpaid overtime.

In addition to the above-mentioned minimum wage exemptions in Kansas, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act also establishes unique minimum pay rates that apply to certain kinds of workers. In comparison to the federal minimum wage, these rates are more desirable. You may be paid less than the Kansas state minimum wage if you fit into one of the following categories:

State of Kansas. Teenagers and young adults get a lower minimum wage of $4.25 per hour. A new hire in Kansas under the age of 20 is entitled to a $4.25 per hour training wage for the first 90 days of employment, as mandated by federal law.


Kansas Student Minimum Wage is $6.16/hour For up to 20 hours of work per week at certain businesses (such as college work-study programs), full-time high school or college students may be paid as little as 85% of the Kansas minimum wage (as little as $6.16 per hour). Students are limited to a maximum of 20 hours of labor each week.

Jennifer Winget

Learn More →